1. a city in W Germany, on the Rhine: seat of the government; former capital of West Germany.


  1. a former republic in central Europe: created in 1949 by the coalescing of the British, French, and U.S. zones of occupied Germany established in 1945. 96,025 sq. mi. (248,706 sq. km). Capital: Bonn.


  1. a city in W Germany, in North Rhine-Westphalia on the Rhine: the former capital (1949–90) of West Germany; university (1786). Pop: 311 052 (2003 est)


  1. a former republic in N central Europe, on the North Sea: established in 1949 from the zones of Germany occupied by the British, Americans, and French after the defeat of Nazi Germany; a member of the European Community; reunited with East Germany in 1990Official name: Federal Republic of Germany See also Germany

Former capital of the Federal Republic of Germany and still home to most of the German government’s bureaucracy, located in the western part of Germany, on the Rhine River.

Popular name for the Federal Republic of Germany before the reunification of Germany in 1990. Bonn was the seat of its government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

47 queries 1.048